Saint-Raphaël

collage.jpg

Today I took the bus to the town of Saint-Raphaël. I had passed through on my nightmare journey from the airport a few weeks ago, but amongst the traumatic memories I did recall seeing a good beach. Also, is it just me or did the characters in French textbooks always seem to come from Saint-Raphael? Anyway I thought it deserved a visit.

It’s a reasonably large coastal town, located in between the other main destinations of Sainte Maxime and Cannes. It’s also quite built up; I heard more English than I’m used to and the sea front has a slight Blackpool feel to it compared to nearby towns. Luckily, it still has the typically-French cobbled streets if you stray from the main promenade and I was more than happy to spend the day wandering round. There’s also a beautiful marina full of impressive yachts, plenty of palm trees and a surprising number of different markets (more on that in a later post). My highlight was finding a juice bar (quite a rare thing in France) so I picked up a mango smoothie and sunbathed on the beach for most of the afternoon. It was the perfect break from work, and, having regained my trust of the bus service, it looks like there’ll be plenty more excursions to follow…

One comment

Leave a Reply

