Monday Musings #6

One cultural observation worth noting is how friendly people are in the South of France. Everyone here says ‘bonjour!‘ in passing. It’s not just happy hotel guests either; when I walk around the town it’s the same with the locals. Maybe it’s the southern sunshine that encourages it? It might be the same throughout France. All I know is that all children say ‘bonjour’ or ‘bonsoir’ to me before I’ve even had the chance to open my mouth. It seems to be automatic for them to acknowledge adults so politely. In England it would only be exceptionally confident children who would initiate greetings like that. Anyway it’s definitely a good cultural difference and it certainly helps foreigners like me to feel welcome.

Leave a Reply

