Summer in the city

So I’ve got a few weeks at home before I start my assistantship in Spain. While I’m here I intend to make the most of all things British; the food, the TV, the weather, the shops, my family and my friends. A great way to kick things off was a day in London.

I love cities. London is obviously one of my favourites and its great to find different things to do each time I go. Yesterday I explored the Sloane Square area with my family, stopping at the Saatchi gallery to see their latest exhibitions and the Good Life Eatery for a delicious lunch. For some beautiful city views we then headed to John Lewis of all places, for their rooftop garden. I’d highly recommend braving the busy Oxford Street department store to reach the peaceful sun-trap that lies at the top of the building (see pictures below for proof). Before catching the train home we walked along the Southbank. This year’s summer festival is based on Love and they have plenty of live events, fairground-style rides and food vendors to enjoy. Yesterday evening there was a dance-troupe performance which was brilliant, they also have film screenings all week (I am very tempted by sing-along Dirty Dancing) so a return visit may be necessary! London is definitely at it’s best during the summer months, and, after the sleepy towns of Durham and Roquebrune, the city buzz was a welcome change.

IMG_6670IMG_6644 IMG_6667 IMG_6669 IMG_6642 IMG_6655 IMG_6662 IMG_6661 IMG_6660 IMG_6656Untitled

Leave a Reply

