An afternoon stroll

Three o’clock is the perfect time to explore the streets. It’s siesta time and most shops are closed so it’s lovely and peaceful. Not that Zafra is ever jam-packed, I should add, but it can get busy when the occasional tour group hits the town en masse. It was sunny today, so as usual I got snap-happy with my camera and the photographic evidence is below…
IMG_7058IMG_7055

El Parador (above) is an impressive 15th century castle in the centre of Zafra. It now exists as a swanky four-star hotel with an equally glamorous restaurant and bar. The castle used to be the residence of the Dukes of Feria and is still equipped with nine battlement towers, original ceilings, ironwork, handrails and many other remnants of the former palace.IMG_7056I mainly use the castle as a large object to aim towards when I get lost wandering through the confusing streets. However, if anyone fancies visiting me then the hotel provides a luxury alternative to the sofa-bed in my apartment. photo 1

Zafra is full of palm trees. We may be 200km from the nearest beach but at least the palm trees create a holiday vibe. There are lots of parks scattered around the place too and this pretty purple blossom makes regular appearances throughout the town.photo 2

Tonight I am off to the cinema to see El corredor del laberinto (The maze runner) with my flatmates. Let’s hope the storyline isn’t too complicated as I struggle enough with convoluted plots in English.

¡Hasta luego!Untitled

One comment

Leave a Reply

