Monday musings #8

The cost of living is unbelievably cheap here, it’s fantastic. Not only am I renting a two-story, three-bedroomed apartment for the price of my box room at university, the cost of food, transport, drinks and clothes is also considerably less than in England. It cost me 3 euros to go to the cinema last week, a large popcorn was a mere 2 euros and that was from the cinema itself – no need to smuggle in cheap snacks from home!

In most bars, drinks range from 1 to 2 euros and you can get tapas dishes for just 80 cents. I’ve heard of people paying 12 euros for two iced teas in Paris.. well here you can get three meals for that.

The ultimate Spanish bargain however, has got to be clothes. My favourite shop at home has always been Zara and I’m delighted to announce that here in Zafra we have access to multiple Zara-style shops for half the price. I love Spanish fashion so I really am spoiled for choice. When my first pay check comes through it’s going to be hard not to spend it all at once; I walk past the shops twice a day to get to work and the temptation is becoming unbearable.

So it may be that the money I save on living expenses will be spent on new outfits, but at least I’ll be a well-dressed teacher. After all, fashion is another way to integrate into Spanish culture and isn’t that the aim of the year abroad?

Leave a Reply

